Pig farming, emerging business opportunity

Starting a business in Ghana can be very difficult if funds is not available. Despite the outbreak of swine fever which many believes originate from industrial pig farms in Mexico, Ghanaians on the other hand do not care much and the demand for pork is still high.

On the average, over 300 pigs are slaughtered a day in the capital Accra to supply the numerous restaurants and hotels which consume bulk of the pork being sold in the capital, however, due to the ban placed on the importation of pig meat, I foresee a situation where the local market would not be able to meet the demand.

Business men out there, I have already made plans to go into the pig industry. I have acquired about 10 acres of land to grow some maize and also to rear pig but the cash to start is the challenge. 

If you are considering the pig industry, contact me and I will give you all the stuff I have gathered on pig production. You can be a billionnaire in two years if you can start with 9 sows and a boar.

91 Responses to “Pig farming, emerging business opportunity”

  1. Ofoe Says:

    Am a pig farmer in Ghana and can confirm that the demand for pig meat and its products are very high. Yet contrary to your article, the Mexican flu and negative reporting of some radio stations in Ghana has result to prices demand and falling sharply.

    The pig industry in Ghana is profitable but also very challenging and to be successful you need to start small,learn much about the industry and then you can grow big. Am sure there many financial institution in Ghana who can help with your business proposal. You could try the agriculture bank of Ghana or Danida B2B program. Good luck

  2. Nii Okpoti Says:

    I’m considering to go into a very large scale pig farm,can you please advice how to construct my pens.thanks

  3. adu asare samuel Says:

    i want to start pig farming but my capital is small and moreover i dont know the breed that i should start with.

  4. jerome Santiesteban Says:

    To whom it may concern I am interested and i would appreciate it if you could give a little bit more details about what you have done so far and also what is your business plan and proposal.

    Feel free to contact me

  5. kwadwo ofori bekoe Says:

    I just read your information on pig farming opportunities in Ghana. I am intersted in going into pig farming and would be interested to know what you have got to offer.
    I am travelling to the US tomorrow and will be back in the middle of Feb. I will be starting as soon as I come back but we can be communicating via email while I am there.
    Hoping to hear from you soon.
    Kwadwo.

  6. NII LOMOTEY Says:

    I want to start the piggery business.
    Iwill need your stuff especially about the housing.

  7. edward Says:

    pls. I have plans to go into pig farming in ghana. can you pls. call me. 001-614-989-4198. U.S.A. Thank you

  8. Herbert Says:

    I am interested in startinga piggery in Ghana… as I am new to this industry and with no experience your help will be well sought after…. we can even go into a joint venture……

  9. cobby Says:

    i want to start serious pig farming but unfortunately i have the land but no capital.

  10. nana yaw Says:

    i am interested. can you tell me how this works and how i can start as a young graduate

  11. PRINCE ABOAGYE Says:

    I AM A PIG FARMER IN KUMASI LETS LINK UP
    DIS MA N0 0208339376

  12. Reagan Oppong Says:

    I need help on how to start pig farm in Ghana.

  13. Victor Ababio Says:

    I h ave got a piece of land with some small amount of money.How can i start on a small scale

  14. victor ababio Says:

    i am considering a pig farming and i will you to give more fila on it

  15. prince awuku Says:

    hi,
    i am interested in the pig farming busssiness.
    I am currently in kumasi, ghana.
    Give me a call on +233243217631.
    I will be waiting.
    Thanks!

  16. Kafui Sakyi Says:

    how do i contact you. send your tel. number
    really interested. lets have the insight and the business plan

  17. anita Says:

    hi. I’m very much interested in pig farming. how do i communicate with you
    ?

  18. Joseph Says:

    I would like to get intouch with Olumo, who wrote Pig farming, emerging business opportunity.
    I am interested in pig farming and would like to get some information on how to start.

  19. olugbaade Says:

    We write to introduce HEARTSTRINGS MEGA FARMS to your reputable organisation.
    We are cocoa growers based in AFRICA and we are interested in supplying our cocoa husk products in large quantities to pig farmers around the world who are involved in pig farming
    cocoa husk is used to feed pigs,and we will like to introduce the cocoa husk to pig farmers through your association so that they can use the cocoa husk for feed for their pigs.
    We are interested and willing to do business with pig farmers to supply them cocoa husk through your assocation and register as an active member.
    Please what are the criteria for membership,contractor,or an affiliate.
    Thanks
    OLUGBAADE DOLAPO A ESQ.
    PROJECT DIRECTOR

  20. KENNETH ABUDU Says:

    YOUR ARTICLE IS VERY ENCOURAGING. I WILL LOVE TO GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU.
    THANKS

  21. KENNETH ABUDU Says:

    I AM VERY MUCH INTERESTED IN ESTABLISHING CONTACTS WITH YOU TO LEARN MORE ON OPPORTUNITIES IN PIG FARMING BUSINESS.THANKS AND HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU AT YOUR EARLIEST CONVENIENCE.

  22. Nyame John Jeffrey Says:

    dear sir,

    i am a fresh graduate and have just been employed for not more than 6month.

    i would be grateful if u could give me all the information required to start pig farming (at elmina, central region, ghana) as it is the type of investment i very much would like to go into.

    Thank you.

  23. peter boateng- obiorah Says:

    I am seriously considering starting a pig production enterprise, and would be willing to listen to advice from those in the industry.

  24. David Cushnan Says:

    Dear Sir,
    i am very interested in setting up a apig farm and i would like to here from you further. Please feel free to contact me as i see that this email is a few years old i dont know if i willget a response.

    Yours sincerely
    Davisd Cushnan

  25. seth tetteh Says:

    I NEED MORE GUIDE LINE IN PIG REARING

  26. Akua Says:

    how do i contact you? I am interested in pig farming.

  27. Akua Says:

    I’ll be very pleased to receive an email from you

  28. silas Says:

    am ready to go into the pork industry.. lets hook up

  29. Telemachus Osae Says:

    I am a beginner in pig farming and want to know more about pig production. I am at the Asuogyaman district in the Eastern region

  30. isaac owusu amankwah Says:

    sir/madam i am interested in the piggery production and will be very glad if you take me through the rudiments.

    hope to hear from you.

  31. pat incoom Says:

    its a good bussines and i want to go into it.

  32. abena abedi Says:

    Am interested, please get in touch

  33. Frank Says:

    I am planning to go in to pig production, can you hlep me with the materials you talked about.

  34. Saka Hassan Says:

    You are right. I learnt that there is a particular pig that is very fecundus and that pig rearing business is real business. China feeds on pigs. Imaging supplying a particular item to the most populous country on the planet.
    Please send me a soft copy of all relevant information.

    Thank you.

  35. Johnson Oppong Dartey Says:

    I am a you man who want to go into pig with in capital but i don’t know how to start.

    • olumo Says:

      johnson,
      I forgot about this site actually. I was concentrating on another site. Please I will get back to you very soon

  36. Makhosonke Mncube Says:

    Hi Olumo

    My name is Makhosonke from South Africa, I am also interested on your research as I am in the process to commence operating my farm from January 2012. I will appreachiate each and every information that I can put my hands and eyes on.

  37. facts about ghana, ghana food, news in ghana, ghana travel, black stars Says:

    facts about ghana, ghana food, news in ghana, ghana travel, black stars…

    [...]Pig farming, emerging business opportunity « Business Opportunities in Ghana[...]…

  38. albert Says:

    I intend starting a pig farm, currently I need information on breeds that are friendly to the tropics and types of farm structure which is best.

  39. pat incoom Says:

    making it big in pig farming has to do with genetics, management and feeding practices. what you need first, after getting your structure is a fast growing breed. a breed that can hit 60kg in 5 months will be appreciated. secondly you should know something about feed formulation. this will make it easier to get factory waste and formulate to get a balanced diet. you can call me for any further inquiries and i would be prepared to share any knowledge i have.
    0244845469.

  40. Kojo mensah Says:

    Please can u help me with how to start?

  41. Evelyn Dzoh Says:

    I totally agree with you. Starting a business in Ghana can be very frustrating but I am determined to start a pig farm. I need more information on how to go about it and if possible partners to begin. I’ll be glad if we reason on productive moves in this business. Thank you.

    • olumo Says:

      Evelyn,
      I took a loan to commence my project. I am still on the foundation level. you wanted a partner to begin with, anyway, you must at least have something before you invite someone to join. I will suggest you at least put up the pig farm, buy some piglets to start with and if possible, draw up your business plan before you get in a partner with cash to assist you.

  42. ernest Says:

    Hi which breeds does one need to start with?
    thanks

  43. franchise Says:

    franchise…

    [...]Pig farming, emerging business opportunity « Business Opportunities in Ghana[...]…

  44. harrison Says:

    want ur contact number i really want to talk to you about the pig farming

  45. harrison Says:

    contact number

  46. Ernest Amoh Mensah Says:

    I am seriously considering enter into pig production but now looking for place for the project. Wanted to know material for contruction their housing the cost benefit analysis of raising about ten piglet. The type of food that they eat.

    • olumo Says:

      Site your pig farm in the outskirt of the town where you live. I stay at Sakumono but I am siting my farm on the Wineba Swedru road. Pigs produce a lot of waste which smells so the farm should be at a distance from the community.
      9 female pigs (Gilts) and a boar will increase your stock to about 72 piglets plus the initial 9 at the end of the first six months assuming each give birth to 8 piglets. If you feed them well, they can reach market size of about 200pounds in six month at an average price of GH5.00 per kilo.

      Profitability of this project boils down to the feeding. Mixture of maize and soya beans is ideal.. Get them the waste from the breweries, mix it with some maize and they will do just fine.

      It is best to invest in their building. A well built block house that is partitioned is okay.

  47. Kwesi Ted Says:

    I live in Tamale and have settled for pig production on a big scale after graduating from the university.
    Started the pig sty with roughly GH¢2700 of which I divided them into four stalls,a long corridor and a wallow that never runs out of water.
    At the moment the Farm has 5gilts,1sow and 4piglets. Of these, the sow will be farrowing by 23rd may of at least 6piglets.
    The source of feed is malt from local brewery,flour waste from corn mill,rice bran,fish meal and concentrates which is compounded with other feed.
    My major challenge I need to overcome is MARKET for the finishers.
    I am projecting to be able to raise over 68 pigs by de end of 2012 and 245 pigs by 2012 all things being equal.
    Will be glad if I could make some contacts on this platform to enable me get ready market for this fulfilling business.

  48. emmanuel donkor Says:

    i am almost done starting my pig farm and i really need to have a tlk with u

  49. micheal Says:

    i have started a smalll scale pig farming and i need advise

  50. Ugochinda Godfrey U. Says:

    God bless all of u 4 de exchange of good ideas.
    i want to know de breeds that are better or best.

  51. Ugochinda Godfrey U. Says:

    please how can i identify the best breeds ?

  52. michael amegbanu Says:

    i want to start a small local pigs farming.
    can you please help me with what i need to put in place before starting?

  53. Eva Says:

    certainly like your web site but you have to test the spelling on several of
    your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues
    and I to find it very troublesome to tell the reality nevertheless I will
    certainly come again again.

  54. Marlys Says:

    Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this site is actually fastidious and the people are really sharing pleasant thoughts.

  55. Guest house Komatipoort Says:

    We stumbled over here different page and thought I might
    as well check things out. I like what I see so now
    i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

  56. Sam Mensah Says:

    Hi, I have invested alot in pig farming which will start in a couple of weeks. The structure is finish and can take about 150 pigs and piglet, pls I need your advice for which types of pigs I should go for and their feeding method and what have you.

  57. frank Says:

    I have some pigs for sale. I would be greatfull If you can help me get a market.

    • olumo Says:

      frank,
      where is your farm and how many pigs do you have? what is the average size of your pigs??

      • frank Says:

        Hi Olumo
        The farms is located at kasoa to Bujiase road Namely.
        Okolu Nkawnta
        Number of pigs 25
        Sizes 1 year, 11/2years , 2years .

      • olumo Says:

        Frank,
        Let me have your number. I will visit your farm next week. How many pigs do you want to sell

  58. frank Says:

    Hi olumo,
    Here are the numbers 0244965614 / 0262650359 /0275068327
    At moment i have 25 pigs.
    My younger brother who is the farm manager and stays at the farm will receives you.
    Do any business WITH HIM
    He name is JOE

  59. frank Says:

    I have not receive any response from you, since l gave you my telephone numbers .
    Thanks
    Frank

    • olumo Says:

      frank,
      I spoke to your guyon the farm and the impression i had was that you have a lot of buyers that you were not able to supply. I wanted to bring the pigs mafia from accra to your farm but i needed to know your site first. Will visit in the next 6 days

  60. click website Says:

    Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular
    article! It’s the little changes which will make the most important changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  61. Kwame Worlanyo King-kwame Says:

    I want to start pig farming pls help me.

  62. Saviour Bankas Says:

    Am very much interested get related to me on 0244019099

  63. SAM... Says:

    ok
    can u also give me market…. have some pigs to sell about 25 pieces.. very big in size..0244475770..

    • olumo Says:

      Hi Sam,
      Where is your farm? How old are your pigs and what are their weight? I need to have an idea of how big they are.

      • Ken Says:

        I have 50 pigs to sell and my farm is in Nsawam, E/R. My contacts :0208335607 email :banekceo@yahoo.com

      • olumo Says:

        ken,
        what is the average weight of your pigs

      • Ken Says:

        The average weight of my pigs is 200kg.
        Thanks

      • olumo Says:

        ken,
        Call Aunt Julie on 0242345796, its likely she will pay you Gh4.00/ Kilo. If I had my own market, I would have paid you more. If I may ask, how long have you reared those pigs and if you make gh40, 000.00 on those animals, will you make some profit.

      • Ken Says:

        I am very grateful for your support . As for GHc4 per kg ,it is too low a price that making a break even remains doubtful. I used to sell at that price in Jan 2012 . I’ve been in this business for the past four years and those times were exciting .I am a recipient of 2011 best municipal farmer in the piggery category. Now that I’m almost done with my postgraduate studies ,I will step up production if the market is right.
        I’ve deliberately restricted production because of rising cost of feeding coupled with lack of market

  64. Komla Says:

    I am interested in Pig farming and have large tract of land on the outskirt of Accra available. However, I lack the experience and have very little funding to start. Anyone want to do a joint venture? Contact me on 0507040992

  65. Priscilla Mensah Says:

    i have noticed on this blog that, a lot of people want to start the pigrr business but do not have enough cash.

    i was wondering if about four people could team up with me so that we can start the business and split up after we have saved enough.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

